PROJECT RECORD 83 · P042
Ravenscraig / SevenFourEight campus
Scotland · Planning application or reserved matters
Reported capacity
Claims use different boundaries and may describe overlapping phases or the whole campus. Values below are not additive, and are not an estimate of remaining construction or incremental grid demand.
IT/compute
Not disclosed
Facility demand / power options
Not disclosed
Grid/supply
550 MW (modification application)
Retained source claims (may be historical or conflicting)
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedfinal_demand_importSite final demand import submitted through Modification Application December2024developer-commissioned report says submitted; no executed MIC scheduleapplication_modificationClaim source ↗
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedshared_campus_grid_connection_allocation_unresolvedData-centre+BESSdevelopmentpoweredby550MWgridconnections; DC-onlyimportvsBESSallocationandmultipleconnectionsnotdisclosedsource-stage unresolvedClaim source · 2025-06-27 ↗
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedapplied_grid_connection_capacityRavenscraig final-demand modification across Newarthill 250 MW and Wishaw 300 MW; arithmetic sum of two named demand rows, one campus.Derived subtotal 250+300; table is a modification-stage disclosure. Do not add 550 again to same campus; V35 already has Glic final-demand-import 550.applicationClaim source · 2025-09-16 ↗
Reported MW · basis unknown
No selected summary claim
Retained source claims (may be historical or conflicting)
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedData center development capacityRavenscraig / SevenFourEight campussource-stage unresolvedClaim source ↗
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedData center development capacity160-acre data center and BESS campussource-stage unresolvedClaim source ↗
- 550 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolveddata_centre_capacity_unspecifiedWhole east/west campusexactsource-stage unresolvedClaim source ↗
Apparent power · MVA
Not disclosed
Location & development stage
- Stage interpretation
- Planning application or reserved matters
- Place / location reference
- Motherwell
- Position precision
- Approximate locality
- Map position
- 55.7892, -3.9919 (latitude, longitude)
Source project P042: Former Ravenscraig Steelworks site near Motherwell. Source states former Ravenscraig steelworks near Motherwell; use Motherwell locality only. Locality representative point only; no site coordinate inferred.
Map points are not surveyed parcel boundaries or electricity connection nodes. The stage is a source-based interpretation at the evidence cutoff, not a current-status check.
Project evidence
These links identify the original publishers. A source may concern a different permit, phase or capacity boundary; use it with the qualifications above.
- https://www.datacenterdynamics.com/en/news/apatura-plans-500mw-data-center-campus-in-scotland/
- https://consult.apatura.energy/ravenscraig/the-project
- https://apatura.energy/news-insights/ravenscraig-plans-to-transform-former-steelworks-into-one-of-the-uks-largest-green-ai-data-centres/
- https://145830797.fs1.hubspotusercontent-eu1.net/hubfs/145830797/Ravenscraig_NL_EIA%20Graphic%20V2.pdf
- https://www.neso.energy/document/368721/download
Cite this record
ElecTrace (2026-10-14). Ravenscraig / SevenFourEight campus. UK Data Centre Planning Database, version 1.0.0, project record P042. Evidence cutoff 2026-09-22. https://electrace.uk/compute/uk-data-centres/projects/P042
Add your access date. Map number 83 is specific to this release; use the record identifier P042 and URL for citations.