PROJECT RECORD 15 · GRID7-DRAX
Drax Power Station data centre options
England · Planned or early development
Reported capacity
Claims use different boundaries and may describe overlapping phases or the whole campus. Values below are not additive, and are not an estimate of remaining construction or incremental grid demand.
IT/compute
Not disclosed
Facility demand / power options
~100 MW grid-fed / ~500 MW behind-meter conditional options (Jul 2026)
Retained source claims (may be historical or conflicting)
- 1200 MWHistorical power option; do not combine with July 2026 options or add phases to the terminal figuredata_centre_power_option_terminalterminal option equals three phases; not additive to phases or established import contractApproximate historical February 2026 power option; conditional and not an agreed import capacity. Later July reporting restated only the 100 MW and 500 MW options.Historical February 2026 conditional visionClaim source · 2026-02-26 ↗
- 100 MWHistorical power option; do not combine with July 2026 options or add phases to the terminal figurefront_of_meter_data_centre_power_optionphase 1 from 2027; approximate; subject to consents and investment caseApproximate historical February 2026 power option; conditional and not an agreed import capacity. Later July reporting restated only the 100 MW and 500 MW options.Historical February 2026 conditional visionClaim source · 2026-02-26 ↗
- 500 MWHistorical power option; do not combine with July 2026 options or add phases to the terminal figurebehind_meter_data_centre_power_optionphase 2 2028-2031; government agreement requiredApproximate historical February 2026 power option; conditional and not an agreed import capacity. Later July reporting restated only the 100 MW and 500 MW options.Historical February 2026 conditional visionClaim source · 2026-02-26 ↗
- 600 MWHistorical power option; do not combine with July 2026 options or add phases to the terminal figurebehind_meter_data_centre_power_optionphase 3 from 2031Approximate historical February 2026 power option; conditional and not an agreed import capacity. Later July reporting restated only the 100 MW and 500 MW options.Historical February 2026 conditional visionClaim source · 2026-02-26 ↗
- 100 MWLatest restated conditional power option; duplicate source observations are not additivefront_of_meter_data_centre_power_optionJuly 2026 grid-fed optionApproximate conditional power option restated in July 2026; not a confirmed full-facility design or committed grid import.Conditional planning preparationClaim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
- 500 MWLatest restated conditional power option; duplicate source observations are not additivebehind_meter_data_centre_power_optionJuly 2026 behind-meter optionApproximate conditional power option restated in July 2026; not a confirmed full-facility design or committed grid import.Conditional 2027-2031 power optionClaim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
- 600 MWHistorical carryover, not a July capacity confirmation; do not add versionsbehind_meter_data_centre_power_optionunspecifiedHistorical February 2026 figure retained as context in the frozen review; the linked July update does not restate this figure. Omission does not establish cancellation.Historical February vision; not restated in July 2026Claim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
- 1200 MWHistorical carryover, not a July capacity confirmation; do not add versionsdata_centre_power_option_terminalunspecifiedHistorical February 2026 figure retained as context in the frozen review; the linked July update does not restate this figure. Omission does not establish cancellation.Historical February vision; not restated in July 2026Claim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
- 100 MWLatest restated conditional power option; duplicate source observations are not additivefront_of_meter_data_centre_power_optionJuly 2026 grid-fed optionApproximate conditional power option restated in July 2026; not a confirmed full-facility design or committed grid import.Conditional planning preparationClaim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
- 500 MWLatest restated conditional power option; duplicate source observations are not additivebehind_meter_data_centre_power_optionJuly 2026 behind-meter optionApproximate conditional power option restated in July 2026; not a confirmed full-facility design or committed grid import.Conditional 2027-2031 power optionClaim source · 2026-07-30 ↗
Grid/supply
Not disclosed
Reported MW · basis unknown
No selected summary claim
Retained source claims (may be historical or conflicting)
- 1200 MWReported planning or campus figure; source stage may remain unresolvedea_associated_installed_capacityCustomer/DNO supplied queue-item capacity, possibly stage or technology element; not certified maximum importMW unit from NESO explanatory FOI, not added to original XLSX raw fieldsource-stage unresolvedClaim source ↗
Apparent power · MVA
Not disclosed
- Facility boundary: data_centre_power_option_terminal; conditional_vision.
- Historical February 2026 terminal option is 1,200 MW (100/500/600 phase components). July restated only 100 and 500 MW; omitted later expansion is not proven cancelled. Do not add versions.
Location & development stage
- Stage interpretation
- Planned or early development
- Place / location reference
- Drax
- Position precision
- Approximate locality
- Map position
- 53.7284, -0.9809 (latitude, longitude)
Source project GRID7-DRAX: Drax Power Station data centre options. Project name identifies Drax; use Drax village locality, not a power-station grid node. Locality representative point only; no site coordinate inferred.
Map points are not surveyed parcel boundaries or electricity connection nodes. The stage is a source-based interpretation at the evidence cutoff, not a current-status check.
Project evidence
These links identify the original publishers. A source may concern a different permit, phase or capacity boundary; use it with the qualifications above.
Cite this record
ElecTrace (2026-10-14). Drax Power Station data centre options. UK Data Centre Planning Database, version 1.0.0, project record GRID7-DRAX. Evidence cutoff 2026-09-22. https://electrace.uk/compute/uk-data-centres/projects/GRID7-DRAX
Add your access date. Map number 15 is specific to this release; use the record identifier GRID7-DRAX and URL for citations.